Homeschooling With a Newborn

Well on October 16, 2012 Autumn Pearl joined our family making me a mother of 3 precious little people. Now that the novelty of a new baby has worn off and we have started to fall back into a “routine” we are establishing new roles and new ideas of home schooling. I have had proud moments of accomplishments and overwhelming moments of “WHAT AM I DOING?!”. I have felt at times worried about how I am going to get it all done but I am always reminded that I gave my children’s health, talents, and intelligence to God. There are moments when they show how passionate they are about learning when they beg me to do school. The moments I catch them showing compassion for one another. The smiles and giggles that reassure me I have happy children. The respect my son shows by holding doors and saying excuse me to strangers. The fight I deal with is over who gets to say the prayer for dinner. The kids whine when we skip church because I just had a baby. My daughter puts the needs of others before her own. There are numerous signs that God is clearly at the center of my children’s life. How can I fail if I give Him leadership in my life and teach my children to do the same?

God calls me as a mother to teach my children to follow Him.

These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. Deuteronomy 6:6-7

With this He also promises that if you train your child up in the way he should go when he is old he will not depart from it.

Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

After remembering God’s truth and acknowledging His control of our lives I find a freedom in homeschooling. It becomes a joyful experience for all of us when the pressure is off my shoulders. Thank the Lord for His guidance and intercession!

So my solution to continuing to homeschool while welcoming a new baby into the family is to have faith and let God guide you. Trust that He will give you the strength and patience to do what needs to be done. He will give you the knowledge to teach them what is needed. He will also take care of the rest. They will become who He intends for them to be and it will be because of Him. Nothing you can do will screw that up! So relax and enjoy the precious moments making memories and living life. Quit stressing. This time in life will only happen once so live in that moment.

My Mommy Tip: . As you know babies monopolize a lot of your time. So multitasking is your best friend! Learn to take advantage of teaching moments in everyday activities. Use chores, shopping, cooking, media, and other necessary task as a guide instead of a detour. Ask questions and involve them. Try to get out of the “school” mentality and just teach.

One thought on “Homeschooling With a Newborn

  1. Congratulations on Baby Autumn. It sounds like you’re doing a beautiful job in teaching Rileigh and Jett. I know it must be tough as Rhett is away, but God is your strength and you won’t fail! So proud of the witness you guys are living.

Leave a Reply

