A Decade After a Shotgun Wedding

IMG copy

IMG2 copy

I remember it like it was yesterday. Our lives changed so suddenly.

As a high school graduate only months before, I had no clue what I wanted out of life. I thought I knew but I didn’t.

IMG3 copy

IMG1 copy

The summer of 2004 began my journey into my new life. My adult life.

On July 3rd, 2004 I walked down the aisle to become Mrs. Rhett Walker.

We were the picture of the American shot-gun wedding. The church gave us a wedding. Family supported us regardless of the poor circumstances. Within 2 weeks of an ‘engagement’ we received our new roles as a husband and wife.

The summer consisted of baseball games, clay dirt, muddy water lakes, road trips with Garth, and it ended with the anticipation of a baby.

IMG5 copy

IMG6 copy

IMG7 copy

IMG8 copy

We were just kids with no idea of what the world had planned for us. At 17 and 18, we embraced a life together without even knowing what that meant. We faced doubts from everyone including ourselves. As if marriage at that age wasn’t difficult enough, in February of 2005, we welcomed our beautiful daughter Rileigh into our young family.

The sleepless nights, lack of money, and our naive perspective brought us together. We fought hard but thankfully loved even harder. Many have asked how we survived? My answer is we never had a choice. We needed each other and we both knew that. It wasn’t easy. But our stubborn personalities were found to be useful. Neither of us ever walked away.

It’s been a decade.

A decade of 7 homes, 4 states, many jobs, 3 kids, and more love than you can imagine.

He is my best friend. He is that person, that when something good happens to me, I can’t wait to share it with. The reason I understand who I am, the reason I am a mom, the reason I can face anything life throws my way is my husband.

Screen shot 2014-06-30 at 1.44.00 PM

Happy Anniversary Darling.

I’m looking forward to sharing the many decades to come!

4 thoughts on “A Decade After a Shotgun Wedding

Leave a Reply

