It is ok…

As you can tell, I have been busy here lately. Homeschooling has started back, along with Rhett touring, so my blogging time has been limited. Even if I could find the time, my mind is so consumed with various plans that I wouldn’t have much to say that was worth hearing/reading. So that is where this blog is coming from.

I’m learning to say “no”.

Women of today’s culture are given very high expectations. We are expected to work, clean, cook healthy meals, DIY crafts, volunteer, blog, put your kids on travel teams, attend church functions, keep up with social media, and so many more. There is just no way to do all of this and still do it well. Instead of doing a lot of half (donkey) things I am choosing to do what matters really well.

I don’t think this will always look the same either. Some seasons will be spent differently which will allow time slots to shift. Or I might purposely choose to invest time in other areas of my life. And that is ok.

No matter how my time is being spent, as long as it is what is best for our family at the time I will be content.

I will have seasons without play dates, seasons without sports, seasons without a clean house, and seasons without healthy, home-cooked meals. And that is ok.

I am speaking from my heart to the other moms out there purposely spreading themselves thin for the sake of their family, “It is ok if you say no. It is ok if you don’t take your kid to ball practice because you haven’t seen your husband and you miss him. It is ok if you have eaten take-out all week. It is ok if you haven’t washed your hair in 3 days. It is ok if you don’t call back someone immediately because you just got a moment alone. It is ok….”

Saying no can be freeing and actually be best at times. Not all the time. But just know when you do, it is ok.

xoxo

April Walker

7 thoughts on “It is ok…

  1. Thanks for that post. I really needed to hear that this week. I said NO to a huge church commitment and have a lot of people upset with me, but it’s what I had to do for my family. Thanks again.

  2. Great message! It reminds me of a commencement speech given by Shonda Rhimes where she explains that there’s no such thing as “having it all”… and that’s okay.

  3. This response is coming from a husband who sees these expectations laid on my loving wife every day… THANK YOU. She is the stay at home mom that everyone thinks has time to help with everything, because, after all, she stays home and does nothing… I truly believe that it is easier to be a working mother than to be a stay at home mom. I have much respect for any woman who can commit to being a stay at home mom. Permission to say NO is hard to give yourself, but much deserved.
    God bless,
    Jim

Leave a Reply

