Happy Saturday!

Hey guys. So, once again I fell off the grid, into blogger hibernation. I am amazed at the time consumed in my life considering I don’t actually have a “job”. Between teaching long division, the difference between oy and oi, folding Autumn’s clothes for the 500th time because she insists on emptying her drawers everyday, taking Bear on potty breaks, and maintaining a social life I literally have not a moment to think of profound thoughts. Unless you count where I can stick elf for the night before I once again forget to move him!

I guess that means you will have to accept a blog of little purpose other than to reintroduce myself in the internet world. We are currently enjoying dad at home and living life up in our small town. Rhett’s currently writing and recording so his schedule is like an 8-5 which is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! He is aways gone enough for me to continue homeschool lessons and my chores but home for dinner. Doesn’t get any better than that!

Homeschooling is going great. We are enjoying our tutorial and all of the fun that comes along with it. The kids go every tuesday and get the experience of school without as much obligation. It also provides a off day for me to grocery shop, run errands, dr. appointments, etc which is a huge blessing. We are using Abeka this year and still love it. I can see so much progress for this year already.

Christmas is right around the corner and we are counting down the days! Like I mentioned above, our elf Snowflake is getting into trouble every night, as long as I can remember to instigate his naughtiness! It is so hard to remember to move him! Someone needs to figure out a way to get rid of the elf tradition before I get the worst mom award! I sure hope I’m not the only one who struggles with this.

For an early Christmas present, we got a puppy and named him Bear. He is seriously the best dog ever! He is a 2 month old Maltese. Such a tiny fellow but tolerates and enjoys the love from all three littles.

So our chickens have dwindled down to only two. Boo. We were letting them free range a lot and they were being ran off into the woods by a predator. Each time we would come up one short. I am thinking it was a hawk but we never saw it. The 2 left are finally giving us eggs! Seems like so much work for the few eggs so far. Kudos to all the chicken farmers out there!

Every night at dinner we say a prayer for the meal beforehand. In teaching Autumn how we do this, we simplified the prayer into terms she understood. My hubby would say, “Thank you for Sissy who is such a great big sister, thank you for Bubba who is such a good brother, and thank you for sweet little Autumn. Thank you for this good food. Amen” Well now through the entire prayer Autumn sits with her hands over her eyes saying, “andddd Autumn, and Autumn”…. until he finally gets around to praying for her. She also ends every book with “Amen!” instead of ‘the end’. She spends the majority of her days changing clothes. She will empty every drawer she has and play with the clothes instead of her toys. Drives this mama cray-cray!

Riles is becoming such a beautiful young lady. She turns 10 in February. I don’t know if I’m ready to have a child in the double digits yet. I’m not even out of my twenties! But I love the conversations we have now. Her maturity and development makes for fun witty remarks, sarcasm, and compassion for others that many mothers don’t even express. I am so proud of her positive outlook on everything.

Jetty is looking, acting, and becoming just like his father. His leadership personality is starting to show which can cause some moments of conflict but if molded just right he will become a man capable of anything. For a boy with such toughness, stubbornness, and energy he shows so much love. That is an easy combination for great things. Glad that I get to have a hand in bringing it into fruition.

I am going to go get some laundry done while Autumn and Bear are napping. Church is tomorrow and I get to hear the Mr. lead worship at our home church, The Journey. I am beyond excited! I haven’t heard him in a worship setting in a while. Join us at 9 or 10:30 in Lebanon, Tn. 🙂

Have a great weekend!

-April Walker

Leave a Reply

