20 questions for a New Year reflection

Screen shot 2014-06-30 at 1.44.00 PM

1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

This past year was full of blessings.! We joined a tutorial for homeschool, Rhett played the Opry several times, we got a new car, I got to witness my baby brother get engaged, celebrated my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary, and my nephew Canton was born. If I had to narrow it down to the best thing though, it would have to be celebrating 10 years of marriage with the Mr.. He’s my bestie.

2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

Rhett’s fall tour was pretty challenging this year. It was a 2 and 1/2 month tour with very few breaks. Plus it was at the same time as an album release so there was also radio promotion going on. Maintaining the home life wasn’t that difficult because I was blessed with great kids, but missing my man was not a fun task.

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?

Our home church The Journey was an unexpected joy. We had been searching for a church for quite some time and they all just didn’t seem to fit our family. Finally, after much recommendation, we tried it out in 2013 and 2014 was full of so much joy because of that decision. We made new friends, got opportunities to serve, witnessed our kids begin loving church again, and always felt challenged in our spiritual journey.

IMG_9837 copy

4. What was an unexpected obstacle?

This is going to sound funny, but what came to mind was making sleeping arrangements for 5 people when traveling. Now that Autumn prefers a spot in a bed when we travel instead of a pack-n-play we are finding it difficult to fit us all in one room. For a family that travels as much as we do, that is a huge obstacle. We can no longer do mom and dad in one bed and the 2 kids in the other. Or mom and dad in the bed with the 2 kids on an air mattress. We have to have one more spot. I’m thinking we need 3 kid-size air mattresses or cots!

5. Pick three words to describe this past year.

Busy. Memorable. Blessed.

6. Pick three words your spouse would use to describe your year—don’t ask them; guess based on how you think your spouse sees you. (If you’re not married, have fun guessing the answers from other friends and family, or just skip this question.)

skip.

7. Pick three words your spouse would use to describe their year—again, without asking.

skip.

IMG_8891 copy

8. What were the best books you read this year?

I really liked The Divergent and The Selection series.

9. With whom were your most valuable relationships?

This is a loaded question. lol. Umm. I’d say my spouse and kids since most of what makes me who I am is revolved around them.

10. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

We are now driving a car that fits our family of 5. Autumn Pearl became a toddler. Rhett’s career is evolving. I’m closer to 30.

11. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

I think this year I developed a free spirit, independent, stronger outlook on life.

12. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

I feel they go hand in hand. My spiritual growth = my emotional growth

IMG_8943 copy

13. In what way(s) did you grow physically?

I got a treadmill and became more active. I also stopped drinking diet coke. So  I hope I shrank physically!

14. In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others?

I found a healthy independence from my mr. and littles. My full-time mom role is hard to escape sometimes but this year I learned it’s ok to have fun with friends outside of my husband and kids.

Walker-42

15. What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

I got to design my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary invites and my baby brother’s wedding invitations! Seeing my children’s relationship’s with each other grow.

16. What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

Learning to print at home on 4 bar cards! (RSVP size) But I now have it mastered! Teaching my full-of-energy son to read.

17. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

Worrying. 

18. What was the best way you used your time this past year?

Homeschooling the littles. How do you top that kind of fruition?

19. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

That evolving is part of life. Culture changes, people change, growth is inevitable, and being able to adapt with grace and strength will define your successes.

20. Create a phrase or statement that describes this past year for you.

*This is a survey found over at The Art of Simple.*

xoxo

April Walker

Leave a Reply

